BNW Banner BNW Banner

Tune in for narratives critical to our times. Listen, ask and seek answers.

Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan is the critically acclaimed author of 17 books. His first published work, a collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites, won the Somerset Maugham Award. His novels include The Child in Time, which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award, The Cement Garden, Enduring Love, Amsterdam, which won the 1998 Booker Prize, Atonement, Saturday, On Chesil Beach, Solar, Sweet Tooth, The Children Act and Nutshell, which was a number one bestseller. Atonement, Enduring Love, The Children Act and On Chesil Beach have all been adapted for the big screen.


Ian McEwan: Machines Like Me

Ian McEwan in conversation with Marcus du Sautoy

An exploration of the prolific life and creative journey of Ian McEwan, featured by The Times on their list of ‘The 50 Greatest British Writers since 1945’. A six-time Man Booker nominee, McEwan won the 1998 Prize for Amsterdam. This session will take viewers through the author and screenwriter’s iconic works such as Amsterdam and Atonement. This session will also discuss his most recent novel Machines Like Me and the political messages, macabre portrayals, alternate timelines and themes of artificiality within.